Services

Civil Enforcement

Civil Process

General instructions:
All services will require a Service Information Sheet or cover letter from a law firm or government agency giving detailed and specific information to be used to locate and serve the designated person. Successful and expeditious services are our goal and we, therefore, rely heavily on the information that you provide to us. Plaintiff’s information must also be completed accurately so that we may notify you of the results of our service attempts.

If you wish to have papers served, bring an original set of all papers you received at court to the Civil Unit customer service counter. We will assist you in preparing a service packet. For detailed instructions on what papers are required for different types of service, please call the Civil Unit at (520)351-6000.

Civil Process:
The Civil Unit serves various civil process and court documents, including writs, notices to appear, domestic/divorce papers, complaints, summons and subpoenas. There are service fees for these services and deposits are required. Writs require a deposit of $300 and other processes require a deposit of $100 per service.A deposit of $50.00 per person being served on Injunctions Against Harassments or Injunctions Against Workplace Harassments without a Waiver or Deferral from a Arizona Superior Court.


Process Service Deposits and Fees

Waivers and deferrals:

Unless you provide a waiver or deferral from an Arizona Superior Court, there will be charges for serving your papers. A valid copy of the court order waiving or deferring fees must accompany the papers you submit for service.

Waiver– means that the issuing Court is waiving all service fees and charges, and, therefore, no payment will be required.

Deferral – means that you will be billed later by the Pima County Sheriff's Department for any applicable service fees and charges.

Out of state waivers or deferrals will not be accepted.  You may contact a local Arizona Superior Court for assistance in obtaining a waiver or deferral order.

Required Deposits:

A deposit is required with all civil processes except for Orders of Protection and Injunctions Against Harassment with a dating relationship, which are exempt from fees. Payment may be made  cashier's check, money order or law firm check or debit card in person. Checks must be made for the proper amount and be made payable to the Pima County Sheriff's Department.  A deposit of $100.00 is required, per service, on all civil process and criminal papers (Subpoenas, Summons, etc.). A deposit of $50.00 per person being served on Injunctions Against Harassments or Injunctions Against Workplace Harassments without a Waiver or Deferral.

A deposit of $300.00, one set of original paperwork, a set for each person being served, and an extra set is required on all writs:

  • Writ of Execution - General or Special
    Writ of Restitution, Attachment or Possession
  • Writ of Replevin
  • Writ of Garnishment

Extra charges may apply concerning multiple services.

After deduction of charges and fees, any excess deposit will be refunded to you by mail. If the fees exceed the amount of the deposit the Pima County Sheriff's Department Civil Enforcement Section will bill you for that amount.

The required deposits will be:

Protection Orders No charge
Injunction Against Harassment with dating relationship No charge (stipulated by the court)
Injunctions Against Harassments $50.00 per person being served
Injunctions Against Workplace Harassments $50.00 per person being served
All civil process and criminal papers $100.00 per person being served
Writs $300.00 per case

Civil Sales

Certain writs require the court-ordered seizure and sale of both personal and real property at public auction. All such sales of real property are conducted at the Pima County Superior Court House, east steps (facing Church Avenue). Personal property sales are held at various locations.

Notice of sale:

The dates, times and locations of all civil sales are publicly posted and announced above, as well as at the following locations:

Civil Enforcement Section 
Legal Services Building 
32 N. Stone Avenue, 16th floor 
Tucson, AZ 85701-1409

Pima County Superior Court 
110 W. Congress Street 
Tucson, Arizona 85701

Pima County Consolidated Justice Court 
115 N. Church Avenue 
Tucson, Arizona 85701

If you would like to review Arizona Revised Statutes, please visit the Arizona State Legislature website.

The Civil Enforcement Section’s Tax Unit is responsible for the collection of all delinquent, unsecured personal property taxes in Pima County. Tax payments may be made in person or by mail to:

Pima County Treasurer's Office
115 N. Church Ave.
Tucson, AZ 85701-1199

Tax payment due dates:

A.R.S. 42-18052 provides payment due dates and a schedule outlining when property taxes become delinquent. Property taxes are normally paid in two (2) installments; the first payment is due October 1st and the second payment is due March 1st. The October payment is delinquent after 5:00pm on November 1st and the March payment is delinquent after 5:00pm on May 1st. If the total amount due is $100.00 or less, the entire amount is due on October 1st, and is delinquent on November 1st at 5:00pm.

Seizure and sale of property for non-payment of taxes:

Arizona Revised Statutes allows for the seizure and liquidation of personal property necessary to pay the delinquent taxes, interest, and costs associated with this process. Taxes are considered delinquent and property considered eligible for seizure after the second installment is past due, May 2nd. Seized property will be sold at public auction to the highest bidder to pay taxes owed.

Sale information:

Sale notices providing dates, times and locations are posted at the following locations:

Civil Enforcement Section
Legal Services Building
32 N. Stone Avenue, 16th floor
Tucson, AZ 85701-1409 

Pima County Superior Court
110 W. Congress Street
Tucson, Arizona 85701  

Pima County Consolidated Justice Court
115 N. Church Avenue
Tucson, Arizona 85701

Contact the Sheriff’s Department Civil Enforcement Section Tax Unit at (520) 351-6000 or the Pima County Treasurer’s Office at (520) 724-8341 for additional information regarding unsecured property taxes.

Appeals process:

In order to contest a delinquent personal property tax bill, you must first pay the delinquent bill at the Treasurer's Office. You may then contact the Pima County Assessor’s Office at (520) 724-8700. You will be able to begin the appeal process as outlined in ARS 42-19051 and obtain appeal forms.

Protective Orders:

The Civil Enforcement Section serves Orders of Protection at no charge to the plaintiff. Follow the four steps in order to have an Order of Protection processed for service.

  1. To obtain an Order of Protection from an Arizona Court, the contact number for Pima County Superior Court is 724-3210 and their website is http://www.cosc.co.pima.az.us/.
  2. Once you have been granted an Order of Protection you can download and complete our information sheet from our website or pick up an Information sheet at our office. 
  3. Please ensure you read the following Civil Enforcement fact sheet concerning service of your paperwork.
  4. Bring your court paperwork and completed information sheet to our office to process for service. Although we prioritize the service of Orders of Protection, it may take up to 5 business days for the defendant to be served.

We are located at the following address:

Pima County Sheriff's Department
Civil Enforcement Section
32 N. Stone Ave., 16th floor
Tucson, Az. 85701
DT-LSB16-205

For additional questions please contact us at (520) 351-6000.

The Civil Enforcement Section serves Injunctions Against Harassment and Injunctions Against Workplace Harassment issued from the courts. Follow the four steps in order to have an Injunction Against Harassment processed for service.

  1. To obtain an Injunction Against Harassment from an Arizona Court, the contact number for Pima County Superior Court is 724-3200 and their website is http://www.cosc.co.pima.az.us/.
  2. Once you have been granted an Injunction Against Harassment you can download and complete our information sheet from our website or pick up an Information sheet at our office.
  3. Please ensure you read the Civil Enforcement fact sheet concerning service of your paperwork.

    A deposit is required for the service of all Injunctions Against Harassments except those with a dating relationship when stipulated by the courts. Unless you provide a waiver (Waiver – means that the issuing court is waiving all service fees and charges, and, therefore, no payment will be required) or deferral (Deferral– means you will be billed later by the Pima County Sheriff's Department for any applicable fees and charges) from an Arizona court, there will be charges for serving your papers. If fees are to be waived or deferred, a valid copy of the court order waiving or deferring fees must accompany the papers you submit for service. Out of state waivers or deferrals will not be accepted. You may contact a local Arizona court for assistance in obtaining a waiver or deferral order.

    The required deposit for Injunctions Against Harassments without a court stipulated dating relationship is $50.00 per person being served.

    Charges that will apply:

    • $16.00 service fee (per order served)
    • $8.00 prep fee (per affidavit created)
    • $2.40 a mile ($16.00 min. per attempt)

    Deposits are accepted by in-state personal, cashiers or business check, money order, or debit card. Checks must be exact amount. In-state personal checks will be accepted with proper identification.

    After deduction of fees, any excess deposit will be refunded to you by mail. If the fees exceed the amount of the deposit the Pima County Sheriff's Department Civil Enforcement Section will bill you for the remainder due.

  4. Bring your court paperwork and information sheet to our office to process for service. It normally takes up to 5 business days for service.

We are located at the following address;

Pima County Sheriff's Department
Civil Enforcement Section
32 N. Stone Ave., 16th floor
Tucson, Az. 85701
DT-LSB16-205

For additional questions
please contact us at (520) 351-6000.

The Pima County Sheriff’s Department Civil Enforcement Section is responsible for the administration and issuance of Pawnbroker Licenses in accordance with Arizona Revised Statute 44-1627.

To obtain an initial license or renew a Pawnbroker License in Pima County, an Affidavit of Request to Obtain or Renew a Pawnbroker License and an Affidavit of Fingerprint Integrity for Pawnbrokers License in Pima County must be filled out, notarized and returned to our office, by each proprietor, partner, designated agent, corporate officer, director, and any stockholder owning 10% or more of the corporation.

An annual background investigation will be performed on each person to ensure that the applicant has not, within the last five years, been convicted of a felony involving trafficking in stolen property, fraudulent schemes, forgery, theft, extortion, conspiracy to defraud or a felony involving moral turpitude.  This is required to ensure that the applicant meets the requirements of Arizona Revised Statute 44-1627H.

Applicants should be very familiar with all aspects involving the licensing of pawnbrokers and ensure that they and their establishment satisfy all the requirements as stated in ARS 44-1627.  One requirement of special note is that the agent/owner must be a bona fide resident of Arizona. 

Following is the procedure to be used when applying for a Pawnbroker License:

1). Fill out the applicable forms that are downloadable in this website:

Every proprietor, partner, designated agent, corporate officer, director, and any stockholder owning 10% or more of the corporation and the designated agent (if applicable) will need to fill out and return to our office, an Affidavit of Request to Obtain a Pawnbroker license and an Affidavit of Fingerprint Integrity for Pawnbrokers License in Pima County.

2). Each applicant initially applying for a Pawnbroker license will need to have a fingerprint card submitted.

  • Fingerprint cards can be obtained at:
    • Pima County Sheriff’s Department, Civil Enforcement Section located at 32 N. Stone Ave 16 floor (520) 351-6000.
    • Pima County Sheriff’s Auxiliary Volunteers located at 1650 E. Benson Highway,  Suite B (520) 351-4971.
    • Applicant(s) will need to be fingerprinted using the fingerprint cards by the Civil Enforcement Section or Sheriff’s Auxiliary Volunteers at:
      • At any Law Enforcement agency of their choice
      • Pima County Sheriff’s Auxiliary Volunteers 1650 E. Benson Highway,  Suite B (520) 351-4971.
        • There is a $10.00 fingerprinting fee at the Sheriff’s Auxiliary  Volunteer location.
        • Please call for days and hours of operation

3). Submit a seperate money order or cashier's check made out to the Pima County Sheriff’s Department for each of the following:

       License Fees

  • $1,000.00 license fee for each initial license requested.
  • Up to $500.00 prorated amount at approximately $42.00 a month for each second year renewal license fee.
  • $500.00 for the third and subsequent years for each renewal license fee

4).  Submit a seperate money order or cashier's check for each individual fingerprint card  to the following:

  • $22.00 fingerprint fee made out to the Arizona Department of Public Safety for each fingerprint card submitted.

5). Submit the Application, Affidavit(s), fingerprint card(s), license fee and fingerprint card fee either in person, or mail to our office:

Pima County Sheriff’s Department
Civil Enforcement Section
32 N. Stone Ave. 16th, fl.
Tucson, Az. 85701
DT-LSB16-205

6). Please allow up to 60 days to process the application and fingerprint background check.

7). If approved, licenses can be picked up in person at our office or delivered in the mail.

8). If you will be handling firearms, you will need to contact the ATF for an application. If your business is located within a municipality, please check with them for any additional restrictions or requirements.

Licenses cannot be sold or transferred without approval from the Pima County Sheriff’s Department; a new license fee will apply. Any change request will need to be done in writing and submitted to the Pima County Sheriff’s Department. In order to process your paperwork in a timely manner, ensure that all questions on the application and Affidavit(s) are filled out completely.

Thank you for your attention to this matter, and if you have any questions or concerns, please feel free to contact our Pawnbroker License coordinator at (520) 351-6000.

Any questions regarding pawn shops or pawned items that are not related to licensing, can be directed to the Pima County Sheriff’s Department Criminal Investigations Division at 520-351-4810.